At Springwood Community Kindergarten, our program is guided by Government developed curriculum documents designed to support children’s learning and development in a range of learning areas. The Queensland Kindergarten Learning Guideline (QKLG) aims to specifically enrich children’s learning in the Kindergarten Year. In Queensland, the Kindergarten Year is the year before the Preparatory Year of schooling. Throughout the Kindergarten Year, children’s right to experience the joy of childhood is fundamental and learning is promoted through play, emergent & planned learning experiences and intentional interactions.

The QKLG describes a set of five learning and development areas:

  1. Children have a strong sense of identity
  2. Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  3. Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  4. Children are confident and involved learners
  5. Children are effective communicators.